Some people believe that there should be a law which prevents young people under the age of 18 being outside after midnight. Do you agree or disagree?

Teenagers should be allowed to go outside at midnight or not is a controversial issue these days. Some argue that the government should impose stringent laws to restrict young people from going out late at night. I think laws are, undoubtedly, necessary for their safety and security, but I also believe, freedom is important too for them to a certain extent. On the one hand, I acknowledge, strict regulation should be enacted by the highest authority, particularly, people under the age of 18 for their safety. This is because drinking is prevalent among teenagers. Having attended late-night parties often they have to drive home so accidents are likely to happen as they are not conscious enough while driving. For instance, the recent article by the Government of UK reported that car accidents are increased by 20% in the midnight due to driving by teenagers in alcoholic condition and this has resulted in the death of many youngsters. On the other hand, even though the rules are indispensable for the young people’s security and safety, I would argue that freedom is utmost important in their lives, which is the preliminary right of every human being. In this 21st century, it is really difficult to control them with such a harsh rule. If they are completely restricted from attending late-night parties, they will averse it, become less socialized and can start telling lies to their parents. In conclusion, although I concede that government rules are beneficial for their defence, I believe, being at liberty is their right as a human being which enables them to become socialized.