One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Healthcare services have advanced in this modern era. As a result, humans are having a higher mortality rate compared to the ancient times. Are the positive effects of this, weighing more than the negative ones? This is not a favourable development. The below paragraphs will discuss how the setbacks rule out the benefits of the improvement. First and foremost, there is a tough competition in the job market. If people survive more than their life expectancy, then they would tend to work more for their bread and butter, this would eventually lead to unemployment. Also, a country's economy would suffer to a great extent. Second, the population could go out of control and there might be destruction and wastage of natural resources. For instance, eradication of trees and wildlife for building companies and houses has contributed to global warming and other disasters. On the other hand, older people will have enough of time to spend with their grandchildren. Grandparents can teach traditional and cultural values to the next generation. Next, People who live longer can explore different careers during their life span. Individuals can choose their hobbies as their career, as they will have ample amount of time to enhance their skill set. For instance, people who enjoy cooking, can learn and become expert level chefs and start their own restaurant or hotel. To conclude, although there are many positive sides of people living a longer life, the negative situations arising from this enhanced medical care cannot be ignored. This essay clearly states that the advantages does not outweigh the disadvantages.