Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be spend somewhere else. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is considered by some that the money spent on the arts by the Government is futile and this money can be utilized in many other public institutes. In my opinion, I believe that art plays an important role in the lineage of the culture of a country and deserves adequate funding by the Authorities. Firstly, art is closely related to the country's cultural heritage, which is seen in many museums, religious buildings, and famous monuments. In other words, spending taxpayer's money on restoration and maintenance will keep the culture alive as they are the only link between the history and future and will help to educate the new and coming generations about their history. Many of these religious buildings have intricate art details which make them unique from the modern building, this gives an insight about the time when they were built, Many intricate designs are the actual scenes depicted by the artist, thus keeping those moments alive forever. Furthermore, these museums and old architectural buildings can also provide a lot of revenue in return as many people in different countries are interested in different cultures and hence, tourism can increase, leading to economic growth. For example, many beautiful buildings in France are the reason for huge tourism in the country, as people all over the world are fascinated with its heritage. In conclusion, art expresses the rich heritage of a country and is equally important as other public sectors, so the Government should allot the same amount of money for arts as well.