Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology has permeated many aspects of education, as seen in the way online courses are becoming a common feature of university education. Although there are inherent problems associated with Internet-based learning, it is a fundamentally positive development. Admittedly, the drawbacks of the trend towards offering and attending online university courses are indeed evident. Chief of these is that there is invariably less direct interaction between students and their professors. This, given the complexity of knowledge in university courses, could have an adverse impact on students’ understanding of the concepts learned and their performance at school. Added to this is the fact that these learners may also lack the motivation and element of competition that conventional lectures bring. This can be seen in the way many students zealously raise their hands in class to showcase the depth of their intellect. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online university courses are a welcome development for various reasons. The key benefit is that they allow learners to study in a flexible way. meaning that they can work whenever and wherever is convenient, and they can cover the material at their own pace. Working adults, for example, now can pursue their education from the comfort of their own homes by taking online classes, which would have been impossible in the days before internet-based education. Furthermore, by eliminating the costs of travel, accommodation and the use of university facilities, online courses are made much more affordable. This renders university education accessible to a larger section of the human population. In conclusion. I believe online learning to be a positive development overall because it offers online learners flexibility and accessibility. This is provided that these students proactively seek help from their professors when they encounter difficulties and have group work or group discussions to maintain high levels of competition and motivation.