Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The language barrier is the most challenging task among migrants who decided to live abroad. It is often claimed that, not knowing the regional tongue will take both of physical and social problems. However, I assume, despite, multiple troubles arising from lack of lexical knowledge, these are not so serious that cannot be resolved as we have advanced technology in our modern era. To begin with, not knowing the regional language can provoke some social problems by misunderstanding local citizens and culture, consequently, it would lead to discrimination practice and widespread racism. Also, the migrants develop an antipathy towards other residents and segregate themselves from others. Psychologists prove the fact that these social crises can cause symptoms of a social malady which, eventually, makes them isolated. To put it another way, most employers look for candidates, who are able to speak bilingually and have a good communication skill. In this case, not knowing the non-native tongue makes it harder for immigrants to manage a job and because of the language barrier they remain unemployed. Despite these possible problems, there is a host of solutions to them, which are related to high tech. As a prevalent example, once my brother had a trip to China. Although, he was not aware of Chinese, thanks to technologies such as, Google map, online services and different translators, he did not come across difficulties to find destinations rather than asking people and the Translator helped him to conversate with Chinese people effectively. Hence, he mentioned that the language barrier had not created social or cultural problems to him and even he recognized that people in China were so neighbourly. To conclude, I totally disagree with this statement. Although, it can be problematic for migrants, there is a valid type of technologies which can mitigate these pragmatic concerns.