As countries develop people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you think the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Advancement in technology makes countries to develop in each and every sector, including transportation. As a result, car dependence is quite common and increasing in today’s era. Although having personal car is beneficial for the owner, in my opinion, it has many drawbacks for the environment. An individual can get myriads of advantages by purchasing private vehicle. First is that, a personal car is a convenient mode of transport. In other words, the journey becomes much more pleasant and delightful if someone gets facilities like comfortable seats, better ventilation, absolute freedom of deciding the schedule and roads to reach on a particular destination. Another benefit is that a private car owner can utilize all his time, which is arduous to do with public transport. For example, I personally prefer to read books in my father’s car which I cannot do in public bus or train. Despite the advantages, there are more disadvantages to the environment because of private vehicle. The main issue is that lots of vehicles have increased the level of air and noise pollution which directly affects human health. To illustrate, WHO stated that pollution is the main reason behind the rising rate of people who is suffering from respiratory, heart diseases, and cancer. In addition, more fossil fuels are consumed as more cars are used by people, leading other generations to face a shortage of these fuels. It is proof in many researches that the available fossil fuels will remain only till 100 years and is the main global problem which everyone facing. To conclude, having a car gives someone freedom, but the way it affects the environment should not be ignored. If the public transportation system is easily accessible, safe, and efficient, then the idea of buying and owning a car should be abandoned.