In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disgaree with this opinion ?

Fast food joints have had a massive expansion in the past few years. As a result, many individuals around the world depend on such cuisine and suffer health issues after consuming the same. Should higher authorities levy more tax on this foodstuff? This essay completely disagrees with the former statement. Firstly, this essay will discuss, how charging high taxes would affect only a certain group of people and secondly, it will discuss other alternatives to discourage individuals of buying junk food. To begin with, higher income group will not be affected by increased taxes. Individuals who are monetarily sound to afford eating such items would continue purchasing this variety of food. Second, people who eat fast food as a choice will consume it no matter the cost of this item. For instance, many college students and teenagers prefer to survive on junk food while commuting to university or school. However, the government should think of measures like creating awareness amongst individuals. Additionally, it's difficult to alter a person's taste, so making them aware of the harmful effects of consuming junk food could help reduce its intake. Next, driving individuals towards staying fit and taking care of the body would result in opting a healthy balanced diet. For example, advertisements for diet and physical fitness given by the celebrities, influences many people to imitate them and follow a healthy regime. To conclude, higher taxes on junk food is not a solution to de-motivate individuals to consume it. On the contrary, the government should think of various options like educating individuals to maintain a healthy lifestyle.