Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe its good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

The idea of having friends with similar opinions is considered better idea by many whilst, others prefer to make friends with people who shares opposite beliefs. This essay will shed light on both views and demonstrate why choosing friends with similar belief is always a better idea. Choosing friend is a conscious process and many people choose friends who share similarities in opinions. Homogeneity in personal views allows two people to understand each other more which eventually develops trust between the persons. When trust develops between two people, the relationship becomes rock solid and it leads the friendship lasts for a very long time. For instance, 56% Americans believe that they can easily be friends with like minded people as there is a higher chance that the friendship will last longer. As, similar viewed people tend to develop a better understanding among each other, it is wiser to choose friends who have similar opinions. Another argues that selecting friends from people who shares opposite opinions opens the opportunity for one to widen his/her perspectives. Opposite viewed friend can place constructive criticism of one’s opinion, which may aid the person to refine his or her thoughts. However, there persists a higher chance of collision between two friends when they try to place opposite opinions which may eventually lead to the collapse of the relationship. A study reveals that, only 2% people having different opinions managed to survive their friendship for more than 5 years. Furthermore, opportunities of constructive criticism and widening the perspective are also present in the friendship between similar minded people. To conclude, although few opt for looking friends among people who have opposite mind set, it is always better to develop friendship with people who share similarities in thought process.