In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It has become increasingly popular in Britain, like many other western countries to move the elderly into special homes where they stay with other older people and are taken care by professional nurses. While there are segments of the population in support for government to pay for this care, I firmly believe that it is the families who have to pay for this care. There are two key reasons which indicate why the families have to support the elderly family members. In old age, people are happy being around their family members. It is known from several psychological studies that the elder's lifespan is increased when taken care by their family. These studies also talk about how loneliness affects people at the old age when they reside in such care facilities. These studies also reveal that the root cause for such systems is the culture. For example, consider Asian countries like India and Japan where the majority of the older population stay with the families compared to western countries. In Asian countries the older people are lesser prone to mental health diseases as they enjoy being with their kids and grandkids. Secondly, the government already does a lot to take care of their citizens by budgeting for a quality health care and Medicare systems in the country. A recent study reveals that over ninety percent of the old age homes are privately owned and this number grew rapidly over the last five years. This is an indication that people are choosing to opt for private care facilities to take care of their older family members. Private care is more expensive as the pricing is regulated by a market for such systems. Paying for such private old age homes would become a huge financial burden for the country. In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is the moral responsibility of the families to take care of the elders. Life is a cycle and this is a way of giving back to the older family members as they have sacrificed a lot, working hard to bring them up.