Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people believe that media keeping focus on the bad or negative news can cause numerous damages individually also in all society. I particularly agree with this, but we should consider that in some cases, focusing on problems and emergencies also brings some benefits for people as well as society. There are both advantages or disadvantages in this case, some of each this essay shall consider. The first point to consider is regarding the fact that even being negative to society in general, there are some advantages of posting social problems on the media, as updating the social problems in that region, thus they can avoid trouble which is possibly evitable. The population is aware about the reality and can take precaution to bad circumstances. Secondly, the media have the power to press authorities to take measures about the problem, in case of theft or robbery the police authorities have to increase the security in that region. On the other hand, the benefits of the idea above have some drawbacks that should be considered serious problems. Firstly, watching too much bad news can cause serious problems individually, especially for young people that are forming their ideas about society and how to live in the community, they could stop believing each other and also develop fears about others. Furthermore, this fact could directly affect children in poor areas, because they can imitate bad behaviours and consider what has happened steadily and normally in their society. Secondly, the media is an opinion maker inside and outside the country. Some violences or natural disasters are watched in other countries by the media and cause bad reputation, and it can affect economically, in the tourist market or even in future investments. In conclusion, considering the point discussed previously it is clear to state that the media focus on bad news to capture more attention of the population, but at the same time they could bring up more good news to inspire people to do well, thinking positively also creates new opportunities and education.