Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

How much freedom children should be given on the everyday matter is controversial. Some people think that giving too much freedom to children would create selfish individuals in our society; some people believe it is necessary to nurture creativity and to create self-reliant individuals. My opinion is that parents should neither give absolute abandonment to their children nor they restrict them in every matter- these must be balanced. On one hand, permitting children to do whatever they want and letting them choose everything they like on a daily basis would convince youngsters that they can do whatever they like, it is an irrational thing to do because teens are not mature enough to deal with the true realities of real life so they can make unexpected consequences. The worst subsequence is that those children can become selfish and self-centred when they grow up because they may never take the benefits of others into consideration. On the other hand, when teens are given their own choices, their brains learn how to make hard choices by weighting both sides of their decision. More importantly, it helps them reduce the stress of feeling helpless or controlled by someone else. Therefore, they will have critical thinking and crucial solving problem skills when they grow up, compared with children who are not allowed to pick certain things on their own and restrict them on everything, the children will become fragile-minded and lack confidence when they need to make their own decision. In conclusion, our society needs creative and independent people and that is why we should allow a certain freedom to our child but there should be a boundary of this liberty.