In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities. Discuss the advantages.

Adolescents nowadays prefer to work and travel in the window period between finishing their school and before taking on the university courses. There is a plethora of advantages that come with gaining these soft skills and the work experience. Securing a suitable employment is one of the main advantages that would benefit youngsters in their forthcoming life, if they gain work experience earlier in their careers. Undoubtedly, a certain amount of work experience is warranted by the employers while hiring the candidates for a certain job. It would rather be more productive if a student gets this practical exposure earlier in his life, instead of doing internships later once he has completed his degree. Therefore, it will not only benefit him in competing for a job vacancy, but will also save the important time that he has to invest after attaining the degree or a diploma from a university. Lastly, travelling abroad during a break from studies helps students to explore new cultures in the world that they come in contact with. This will, subsequently, help them to better adjust in a country for his future studies or a work at the country whose traditions is already known to him. Moreover, a recent survey in the Harvard University, for example, has stated that those students who are familiar with the local culture before hand stands a better chance to survive their studies or work than their counterparts. Hence, travelling during a break off from the studies may help students in their future plans. To conclude, travelling and gaining work experience during a year's off from the studies helps students in securing a job, selecting their future profession and exploring the new cultures. It is, however, suggested that students must identify by themselves that what suits them the best! Whether they should travel and gain work experience or continue their studies for bringing the best academic performances.