In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Instead of travelling to work, a greater number of people are working from home, using their computer or some other device connected to the internet. Although this has some major benefits, there are also some drawbacks, and both will be considered below. One of the main advantages is that people do not have to spend a large amount of time each day going to work and then back home. For many people, this can take an hour or more each way and is a major cause of stress. By not sitting in a car in traffic, they can not only save time, but avoid stress, and this should make them be able to work more effectively. Moreover, working from home can mean that people have more control over their lives. In other words, people in an office often have to make it look like they are working when really they are just wasting time. At home, they have an amount of work they have to do and a deadline, and it is up to them to decide when and how they complete it. Nevertheless, working from home can be lonely. Not having co-workers to chat with and help you out if you have a problem that cannot be fixed online is a serious disadvantage. Furthermore, even if you can contact someone via email, it is often better to solve problems face-to-face, while working in an office can create a team atmosphere that is better for productivity and the success of the company. Overall, it seems that working from home can make a worker’s life easier and give them more control. However, there are some things that are better done with other people around.