In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some developed countries, parents encourage teenagers, to take a year off before joining the university, in order to travel or gain work experience, after high school. This is done with a view, to allow the youngsters, to choose their career path. However, this trend has both upsides and downsides, which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, let the youth decide their future, is a noble idea. This is the result of progressive thinking, of rich societies. When the young people work for a year, they develop numerous skills such as time management and organisation, which can assist them in choosing their field of study. To cite an example, exposure to real world employment conditions, can help them evaluate their career choices. Furthermore, travelling makes a person wiser. For example, tourists often meet different people as well as learn about various cultures in their journey, which awakens a sense of responsibility in them. Hence, they can be trusted to make the right choices for themselves. On the other hand, young people who start earning, may often find it unnecessary to gain further education. For instance, there are numerous illustrations, where children do not return to colleges, as they think the only purpose of education, is to earn livelihood. They might often, find something that interests them and might continue working in the same sector. To conclude, permitting students to take a year off, with the idea of having them decide their tomorrow, is a practical idea, which has many perks. But, it should be made sure, that children understand the importance of completing their education. In the present competitive world.