Some people believe that children should be allowed to choose what subjects they study at school. Others argue that everyone should studythe same subjects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that children should be allowed to choose subjects, while others contend that everyone should study the same subjects. I firmly disagree with the latter suggestion because forcing subjects on students would demotivate them, ultimately, resulting in poor academic performance and employment. First and foremost, students opting into courses of their choice helps them in securing placements, as they are indulging in studies related to their future careers and goals. Moreover, this enhances their decision-making skills as they are required to understand and choose the right option for themselves at a young age. Furthermore, a pupil is more likely to stay motivated with courses of their interest. For instance, in England, pupils in the 9th grade are provided with options that enable them to focus on topics that are relevant to their future, and as a result of this, most people obtain their desired jobs. On the other hand, confining an individual to certain subjects would deteriorate their willingness to learn. Moreover, schooling, instead of being enjoyable, would be a burden to them. In addition to this, it would lead to overcrowding in certain job sectors, thereby significantly increasing competition and leaving most freshers unemployed. In India, most parents force their children to become doctors or engineers, and this ideology of parents has led to mass unemployment across the nation. Hence, limiting options definitely causes more harm than good; therefore, children should be allowed to choose subjects that align with their interests. In conclusion, I believe that a pupil should be free to select topics that align with their interests, as it helps them to secure placements. Additionally, it also enhances their decision-making skills from a young age.