International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Are the problems that international travelers cause greater than the advantages they bring? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own Knowledge or experience.

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in international tourism globally. Despite the undeniable economic prosperity it has brought to many host countries, I intend to argue that the overall impact of international holiday-making has in fact been negative. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that international holiday-making promotes many negative aspects of Western culture in host countries. Since it is only the affluent people in developing countries who can afford to travel abroad, undeveloped nations like Thailand and Indonesia have become the playground of tourists from other countries. As a result, the influx of tourists from Western nations has brought with it problems such as drug abuse, alcoholism and prostitution. So, if governments wish to be less vulnerable, greater regulation of international tourism is required. Secondly and even more importantly, though, is the environmental degradation that international tourism has brought to many host countries. Although international tourism has been accompanied by new employment opportunities and economic growth in many host nations consequently, it has caused significant damage to the environment and all of the ecosystem in it. A salient example of this is Maldives Island where countless divers, boats and ships have disrupted the marine ecosystem of the Atlas Ocean, causing significant damage to the marinal creatures. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the drawbacks of international tourism far outweigh its benefits. Nonetheless, I believe that launching educational campaigns in tourist resorts and hotels could diminish such harm considerably