In the world today, it is private companies rather than governments who pay for and carry out scientific research. Do the advantages outweigh any disadvantages?

Today, the private sector is the major spender and conductor on scientific investigation projects which used to be the government’s obvious role in the past. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend and I would argue that the downside of the tendency is acceptable. The demerits of private enterprises to conduct researches are inevitable. Firstly, their resources in certain aspects are limited. Therefore, the scale of their project is restrained with the scope of the company’s goal. For example, market investigation campaigns about the working age conducted by a Vietnamese company only focus on data collected in metropolitan areas such as Ho Chi Minh City and Ha Noi. Secondly, the categories of private corporation research are not diverse. Certain companies only pay attention to their areas of business which means some major social topic would be left over. For instance, it would be scarce that a private corporation conduct a piece of scientific research project about outer space, whereas customer behaviour and purchasing trends researches are ubiquitous for decades. There are still some merits for the movement of researching. First and foremost, all of the projects are for the sake of their business development, they would invest all of their effort to come up with the best outcome with the highest accuracy and crystal cleared detrimental possible effects. Secondly, the profit motive is also an essential factor that is considered a unique value in private sector research activities. Thereby, the project manager is obviously very cautious in the decision-making process of their work to make the most out of it. Otherwise, their resources will be spent in vain and business deficit is unavoidable. In a nutshell, notwithstanding the limited characteristic of private researches is still existing, I would argue that the tendency will be worth sustaining and expanding in the future.