A growing number of people feel that animals should be not exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as human, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reason from your own experience and examples where relevant

All living beings, including animals are part of the nature. A large population believes that animals should not be utilized by humans while others assert that they play an important role in food and research. I hold the view that animals should not be employed by people for their own benefit. The animal exploitation proponents claim that animals play an important role in research activities. Researchers use animals in laboratories for clinical trials so that new medicines can be invented and tested before they are launched in the market for curing of diseases. For example, rats are used by the Pitt Hopkins Research Foundation in US to study the effects of new drugs in the treatment of genetic disorders in children. In addition, animals are the main source of food in western countries. They affirm that population of some animals like chicken, goats, beef etc., will increase at a massive rate if they do not eat them. Thus, this helps them in balancing the cycle of nature. On the other hand, opponents contend that every living being has the right to live. They make arguments that utilising animals are in fact an animal abuse, which involves torturing or killing them. For instance, some famous restaurants use chemicals and other painful measures to raise chicken for producing meat. Moreover, using animals for food is more of a choice rather than an urgent need. Many other alterantive one of a number of things from which only one can be chosen alternative foods are also available which are rich in proteins and other nutrients like beans, legumes, leafy vegetables etc. To sum up, while there are many convincing arguments on both sides of the debate, I would argue that exploiting animals by humans in unnecessary and should be banned.