There is no doubt that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, globalisation has helped the whole planet by decreasing distances and differences among people, countries, and businesses. Some people believe that those who disagree with this idea are against progress. I partially agree, and in this essay, I will expose the reasons. There are some positive points on globalisation. One of them is that all nations can access the same improvements in health services, obtaining medication and new medical equipment quickly. A good example is what occurred during the pandemic of Coronavirus when all nations make efforts to find a solution. Another benefit is that products can be sold around the world without differences, promoting the same living standards. For instance, it is possible for a person living in India to buy clothes produced in the USA and vice-versa. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects. The main drawback is unfair competition between international companies and local shops. As a result, jobs in small businesses tend to disappear and incomes tend to be concentrated in large enterprises. Another disadvantage is that patterns of consumption are becoming more and more similar in the world. Due to this, local cultures and traditions tend to be replaced by standardized features. For example, Santa Claus is very popular around the world, even in non-Christian nations. To conclude, in my opinion, globalisation is contributing to the progress of all countries. However, there are some problems, especially in economic and social questions, that governments, societies, and companies should pay attention to address.