In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations.

Many developed countries are experiencing dramatic increases in average life expectancy. This problem may lead to some impacts on individuals and society, and effective solutions should be proposed to mitigate the adverse effects of an ageing population. Several challenges are likely to result from the growing proportion of senior citizens. Firstly, there will be relatively more people claiming for pension benefits and fewer working adults to pay for taxes. As a result, governments might impose higher tax rates on the shrinking workforce, which can be a heavy burden on younger individuals. Secondly, an ageing population contributes to a shortage of qualified workers, making it difficult for companies fill vacancies. Adverse consequences of this problem include delayed business expansion and declining productivity. Finally, since the elderly are at greater risk of developing illnesses, it is expected that the demand for health care and social services will rise considerably. Authorities need to adopt a number of measures to alleviate the impacts of ageing populations. The first solution is to raise the retirement age or permit senior citizens to continue working if their health conditions allow. Moreover, countries should encourage immigration to increase the supply the labour as immigrants might flow into industries and areas where there is a strong need for workers. Finally, governments can allocate more resources and money to vital health care, accommodation and transport facilities for the rising number of older people. For example, nursing homes provide a myriad of services such as help with daily tasks for those who need medical and personal care assistance. In conclusion, the growth in average life expectancy might bring about serious consequences, and various measures can be taken to address the arising problems.