Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Several studies have reported that people nowadays see advertisements more often than in the past. This increase is due to the significant rise in competition among companies. From my point of view, advertisements moderately influence consumers in making their purchasing decisions. Moreover, I believe that some approaches can be applied to mitigate the negative effects of advertisements. To begin with the moderate influence of advertisements, it is evident that consumers today do not believe every piece of information provided by advertisements. This is due to higher levels of education and the free discussions on social media platforms about the quality of products or services. For example, after watching advertisements, most consumers do not immediately decide to believe and buy those goods. Instead, they wait for online influencers to use and share their experiences first, followed by reading the comments discussed by others. Thus, consumers are moderately influenced by advertisements, particularly in terms of gaining their attention but not making them completely believe. Although people have higher critical thinking towards advertising, the government should establish regulations on advertising. For instance, if any advertisement does not follow scientific or medical reports, it should be banned. Additionally, if any company wants to claim their product’s quality in advertising, it should be standardized and examined by well-known institutes first. Therefore, consumers are protected from exaggerated claims and still safeguarded by the laws. In conclusion, advertisements do not completely influence consumers ’ decisions. Most of them still search for information about products or services via online platforms. However, advertisements should be regulated and comply with government laws to protect consumers.