Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

At present, computers have become widely available among many people and increased number of children play games on computers. This essay will discuss the physical and psychological problems caused by playing computer games and how the organization of community based regular sport events can play the role of a way out of the problems. Playing computer games regularly can develop serious physical and psychological problems among children. Computer games are incredibly addictive, which makes the child to ignore the biological aspects of the body such as eating, sleeping, bathing. Such ignorance leads to health issues as the child is not following daily health routine properly. For instance, a study reveals that children tend to play computer games till late night, which develops insomnia diseases at a very early age. Moreover, such lifestyle keep the children irritated for the whole day which develop psychological problems. For example, the study conducted in the UK accused playing computer games as one of the primary reasons behind the development of anxiety and indifference to social interaction among the urban children. Developing the social practice of organizing community based sports events in each neighbourhood can be a great way of dealing with these issues. Community based sports programs offer a platform for the children to develop social interaction with others which benefits a child psychologically. It teaches them to develop trust which keeps them free from unnecessary stress and anxiety. Furthermore, such events allow children to physically participate in different forms of games which eventually benefits the child to improve his/her health conditions. For example, in Bangladesh, children from the village are found to be more immune to any diseases compared to the child from the city as in village areas, such sports events are very common. To conclude, nowadays, almost every house has a computer and many children play computer games. Playing computer games has severe negative physical and psychological consequences on children, however, these bad effects can be minimized by keeping children involved in community based sports events organized by neighbourhood.