Universities should accept equal number of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people believe it is necessary that there should be an equal number of male and female students in every course, while others are against this idea. First of all, having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply unrealistic as pupil numbers on any subject depends on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, then the merit would be drastically affected. Some courses are more popular for a particular sex than the other. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants, as compared to males. Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, it would be unfair to get admission in university courses on gender. Universities should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. Both men and women have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer qualifications. The quota system should not be enforced because talented student would be deprived. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure.