some people believe that the internet has brought people closer together by making world smaller. others disagree, claiming that the internet has made people and communities more isolated because they no longer need to leave home and interact with others. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

Development of technology has changed human lives. The internet is one of the most innovative inventions of telecommunication. At the viewpoint, of some people, the internet has brought people closer, while others are of diverse opinion. Before presenting my view, I intend to examine both sides of the argument. Advocates of the web suggest that, it has managed to bring the citizens of the world closer by providing several means of communication. Not only, has it made it feasible for friends and family members to connect with each other conveniently, but also, has made it cheaper. To cite an example, thanks to the net, one can chat or video call with anyone, residing in any part of the world, merely through clicking a button. In addition to this, it has enabled businesses, to operate globally through websites, which has brought professionals closer. For instance, there are numerous online sites, where one can find a pro in any field ranging from a doctor to a lawyer. On the other hand, the cyberspace has made the society antisocial. More and more human beings today, prefer online tools to maintain relationships with pals, instead of meeting face to face. Furthermore, this trend has resulted in people suffering from mental disorders such as anxiety and depression, due to isolation as well as loneliness. An illustration of this is, a survey conducted by WHO in 2015, depicted that the number mental health patients have been surging up, since the advent of socialising apps. To conclude, the web has provided paths, for societies, all round the planet to stay connected. However, it has administered solitude among people too. In my opinion, if proper precautions are taken, it can prove to be a boon for the humanity, and help convert the earth into a global village.