18. The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an improvement, while others believe that it is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Scientific and technical advances have brought changes in the food industry. While this may be considered as an improvement, in my opinion, they are harmful to our body. In this essay, we will discuss both the benefits and the drawbacks. To begin with, scientific progresses in manufacturing meals have brought changes in many ways. Firstly, with the help of genetically modified crops, farmers can produce crops that grow bigger and faster, which may be more resistant to diseases or insects. This could be important for management in developing countries with more population. As a result, with faster growing fruits and vegetables, there would be more profit to farmers. Moreover, fruits and vegetables can be modified to look perfect and last longer and also look more attractive to customers. For example, due to the larger population in the US, all cereals and veggies are modified for mass production to feed the entire population. On the other hand, technical changes in food production are found harmful to humans. The most important reason is, farming with fertilisers and pesticides is not environmentally friendly and chemicals passed in the human body would cause greater risks to health. For instance, individuals in middle age are mostly told by doctors to eat organic foods because the right vitamins may not be consumed in their bodies. Apart from this, there are risks involved in genetic engineering of foods, these crops might change the whole ecosystem. Also, most foods are modified to be seedless and it may result in the loss of that fruit permanently. In addition to this, many people prefer organic foods which are produced without chemicals. To conclude, genetically modified food has produced more quantity to feed the entire nation, and in my opinion, they are harmful to the human body.