Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernisation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernisation?

Lately, most of the ancient towns have undergone a series of drastic refurbishment and renewal processes. There are copious merits of this trend such as, it gives the chance to develop the city and provide ample job opportunities due to the marked rise in tourism. On the counterpart the demerits are the originality of the place is lost and the culture of the area possesses a great loss. In this essay the advantages and disadvantages will be elucidated with relevant examples. On the one side, the primary positive about this trend is that, the city is developed as a whole which provides the individual of the area with a huge technological automation. To elucidate, the technology and beautification of the place make it renowned all over the world for its newest attractions. For an illustration, the modernisation of the Amritsar, the holy city has attracted millions of foreign tourists to the town owing to mending and beautification of several places in town making a record of the top most visited town. Furthermore, due to improvement in the artefacts the job opportunities in the place has marked a sudden rise, promoting tourism, government is also benefitted by the changes. Hence, the reconstruction and beautification have positives as it creates employment and attract foreign nationals. Nevertheless, by reconstructing the places the original architecture loses its charm; the material used from the older times is of superior quality, replacing it with the cheaper one will not be a justice with the builders of the ancient times and the artefacts. Moreover, the tradition of the particular place is also destroyed due to modernisation, affecting the lives of the people of the demography. As when the tourist came from the foreign lands, their tradition is adopted by the people resulting in cultural shift. For example, many of the historic buildings of India have been refurbished and lost their identification in the world top ranking list due to the products applied and the diversity of the culture is not found among the people of the area. Thus, the old cities play a paramount significance in reflecting one's culture. To conclude, this essay has discussed the merits and demerits of improving the ancient demography globally and has justified them with suitable examples and supporting arguments.