Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology such as smartphones and computers. Write the causes and propose solutions.

New technologies are invading our daily routines and making our life much easier. Unfortunately, this isn’t the case for senior generation who is facing many difficulties to integrate such technologies in their daily life and tasks. This essay will discuss the reasons causing this unpleasant experience, and how it can be solved following some minor changes. While modern technology, like smartphones and computers, simplifies our daily life routine, some elderly people are struggling to understand and benefit from these “weird” devices as they call them. The main reason is the complexity of their usage on one hand, and the visibility of the display, on the second hand. For example, when someone needs to make a call, they used to lift and dial, as simple as that. Now they have to unlock the phone, open the dialer application, search for a contact if needed and finally dialing. Moreover, another problem is the visibility of the display. Whether on a computer screen or on a mobile one, excessive colors unit of heat defined as the quantity of heat required to raise the temperature of 1 gram of water by 1 degree centigrade at atmospheric pressure calories and small letters aren’t user friendly for elders. Consequently, elders will opt to disregard these technologies and stick on old ways of communication and entertainment. Many solutions can be implemented to simplify modern electronic technology for older people. Varying font size, one click dialer, large display… and many minor modifications can facilitate the interaction between those people and the devices. Moreover, providing simple training sessions for the seniors will definitely help them interacting with these new modern gadgets. Using smartphones and computers won’t be a nightmare for the elderly after implementing appropriate solutions. In conclusion, despite the complexity and variety of new electronic devices, applying suitable changes decrease elder people’s struggle when using these devices. Moreover, guiding old people with the usage of modern technology will help them benefit in their daily activities and communication.