In some countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing rapidly in recent years. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many countries are experiencing dramatic increases in the number of individuals living alone. This growing trend is triggered by several factors, and I believe it is a negative tendency. There are a number of reasons for the current prevalence of one-person households. Firstly, living alone has the capacity to liberate people from all the limits and them complete freedom as well as personal privacy. For example, it is possible to play music at high volume without fear of disturbing other family members. Secondly, since supporting and raising a family involves many responsibilities, some people may choose to live on their own with the aim of developing careers or indulge their passion. For instance, travel blogging is a popular profession among the young that allows the pursuit of both aforementioned aspects. I would argue that this tendency is negative due to several elements. Firstly, living alone means that in times of difficulty, solo dwellers have no one helping or taking care of them. For example, they have to buy medicine and see a doctor by themselves when getting sick. As a result, they may experience a sense of isolation and feelings of emptiness. Secondly, the rise in the number of people living alone leads to higher demand for housing. Therefore, there will be a lack of accommodation and a rapid growth in house prices, which makes comfortable residences an unaffordable luxury for many people. In conclusion, the current trend towards one-person households happens because of various reasons, and I believe this is a negative development overall.