Some languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving those languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary society, we are witnessing a decline in linguistic diversity where several languages are in the phase of extinction due to the small population of their speakers. Some people argue that governments should allocate financial subsidy with a view to preserving these languages, whilst others think that it would be a pointless and ineffective action. I wholeheartedly believe that maintaining the diversity of languages is an imperative thing. This essay will discuss both opinions. On the one hand, a group of people has a belief that spending public money on protecting minority languages is a waste of money and time-consuming. The cost used for preserving those languages would cost a fortune and since there are only insignificant groups of people speaking the languages and as a result, the boycott of youngsters to learn and speaking in those languages will be an inevitable scenario. In accordance with their conception, that amount of money ought to be allocated for more practical matters such as health, public transportation and education. On the other hand, many people are of the opinion that it is requisite for government officials to conserve the existence of minority languages. Each nation has its own traditional language that stands for their distinct culture and has been passed through many generations. If these languages died out, the elite part of their culture will permanently vanish. There are a great number of myths, traditional activities which are inherited from the ancestors by descendants using these languages. Hence, that governments take action in maintaining languages is instrumental in giving people deeper insights into different ways of thinking and living of different cultures and peoples across the globe. To summarize, while it is undeniable that investing in essential services like health care or education brings benefits to people’s lives, I am in favour of the idea that it is crucial to conserve local languages to maintain the world’s linguistic heritage.