Today, TV channels provide men’s sport show more than women’s sport show. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

In this day and age, sportsmen are dominant in sports media, whilst sportswomen have very little attention. The optimal reason for this trend lies in the prejudice against women playing sports, and due to the fact that people having more interest in men’s sporting events and I personally opt for sex equality in broadcasting sports shows. One reason to explain for the female not being paid enough attention is the fixed idea that women should not partake in intensive physical activities. Images of female players competing against an opponent, some of which involve strong activities, are still considered abnormal to a number of people, hence contribute to women ’s sport shows downgraded. In addition, sportsmen shows are more engaging to watch. This is mainly because the male is obviously stronger, more aggressive, which makes their broadcasted shows more stunning and thrilling. As a result, people are generally preferred watching sport activities involving men than those of women and the television studio can generate huge profit from matches and competitions played by males. Take football in Vietnam as a concrete example. Throughout the time of the 30th Sea games, men’s football matches attract millions of audiences from different parts of Vietnam, whereas those of the female have a remarkable low rate of viewership. Nevertheless, I do believe that the ignorance is unacceptable in this egalitarian society and female athletes should be given equal opportunities. If men’s sports programs continue to receive significant support from the fans, it might cause gender inequality, which is one of the most controversial debate for decades. Moreover, the number of women athletes has shown no sign of abating so far, and therefore, TV should cover this potential area more. In conclusion, the wider number of audience watching men’s sports channel is the ultimate reason why TV directors provide more men’s shows than female’s on. I am of the opinion that there should be an existence of greater sexual equality.