These days many advertisements are aimed at children. What effect do you think they have? Should advertising to children be more controlled and regulated?

Many advertisers, seeing the massive market that children's needs can create, aim at children. However, many advertisements use attractive items to influence the tender minds of children. This adversely affects their mindset not only by increasing unnecessary desires, but also by diverting their attention from education and sports. Advertisements on television and various social media flash new products that aim at making children commercial consumers. Consequently, many children demand new and costly branded dresses, jewellery, and smart-phones. This often leads to unnecessary demands and diverts their attention from productive activities such as sports. In several cases, children tend to focus more on the advertised products rather than education. This compromises their career and prospects of a future success. For instance, a recent study by the Ministry of Culture and the Human Resource Department of India revealed that the cognitive ability of children these days have fallen by 20 percent as compared to the previous generation due to increase in consumerism. Advertisements aimed at targeting children must be regulated since children cannot make informed and objective decisions. The Censor Board of India, for example, studies all television media, including advertisements, to judge their suitability for various audiences. It also studies advertisements to suit the requirements of children. Such regulation protects the rights of children from the onslaught of consumerism. Therefore, boundaries should be set to regulate advertising, including what kind of slogans or graphics are acceptable, as well as what length or times of airing is inappropriate, if an advert is targeted at children. In conclusion, protecting children from commercial advertisements that create unnecessary demands not only helps children become more successful in the future, but also prevents unnecessary expenses which makes them economically stable.