Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, the government and public developers have been working hard to solve the question of why there are only many sightseeing by tourists in the museums and the historical sites, but not local people. This complication is caused by many different reasons which will be discussed in this essay before the solutions to it are given. There are a number of reasons of why this problem exists. First, the main reason is that since these locations provide a comprehensive overview of the traditions in the localities where newcomers were situated. As a result, such destinations are more appealing to the tourists than local people, since those who do not have needs of familiarising to the traditional values in the region. Second, another compelling reason is that museums and historical sites are used to conserve unchanged values through years, therefore these sites would be visually unattractive to local inhabitants, since they have gone to there once in their life. For example, I live in Cu Chi district, where is famous of tunnels, but I also have gone to there when I was a kid and I have not turned away up to now because it is too familiar with me. However, there are a great deal of solutions to diminish above-mentioned reasons. Firstly, the main solution is to change perception of local citizens about such places where are organised not only public's activities but also monotonous activities. For example, civic events, such as weddings or anniversaries, should be allowed to organise in these sites, which would attract substantial public attention to historical values. Secondly, by reducing the prices to local resident, there will be more motivation for them to visit museums and historical regions. In fact, since many museums and historical landmarks in Vietnam are free for the locals, places like Ha Long bay attract mostly local inhabitants. In conclusion, historical areas and museums can be uninteresting for local citizens because they can be too familiar with the culture that these places depict. To better this, there should more open-door policies to use such locations as spots for more public-oriented activities.