Some people say that art subject such as painting and drawing shiuld not be made compulsory for highschool students. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

People are suggesting that that artistic subject shouldn’t be made mandatory in high school. I completely agree with this point of view and in this essay I will support my opinion. There are many underpinnings that art-relating subjects should be only served as an optional part of the high school education system. To begin to analyse my thesis, students do not have equivalent capabilities of appreciating and understanding arts since it requires innate talent rather than deliberate practice. Therefore, it is likely to occur that students not being gifted in the field are subject to feeling inferior to their endowed classmates in arts classes, which eventually might lead to them suffering from extra peer pressure or lack of self confidence. Another point to consider is that obligated art courses might put a curb on high schoolers’ time to focus on their favourite subjects or future agendas. For example, forcing a student whose career path involves doing mathematical research to recreate a Pica would probably be a waste of time. People who subscribe to the opposite side may argue that making art could aid to relieve pupils’ stress. However, they haven’t taken into account that not every student enjoys a corresponding way of stress-releasing. By that I mean, creating artistic things to some adolescents could be categorized as boring and pressurizing and if they can opt there are assorted hobbies and interests that might be more suited for them that arts such as sports or science. To sum up, art programs could be advantageous to some students, but not all could benefit from them. Consequently, I do not advocate the idea that they should be compelled at high school.