in some areas of the us a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. what is your opinion about this?

Teenagers roaming around the city, late at night, has become a cause of concern. In order to deal with the issue, a curfew, restricting teenagers going out late at night without accompanying adults, is observed in a few areas of the US. In my opinion, imposing a time limit is not the ideal solution to the problem and the essay will elaborate my viewpoint. Firstly, although it may not appear on the surface, declaring a curfew is a very strict step. Whereas it is obvious that it is not safe for youngsters to wander around alone, at late hours in the night, imposing a time limit altogether is an extreme step to be taken. For instance, in case of some situations of emergency or going over short distances, youngsters should be allowed to move alone. Thus, the severity of the method makes it somewhat unacceptable. Furthermore, even though it may seem as a good way of controlling the younger generation, the effectiveness of this method is actually doubtful. To put it differently, younger generation, given their levels of smartness and innovation, can and will find out the way to sneak out, thus failing the purpose of the whole thing. For an illustration, teenagers have known to make use of fake ID cards, displaying incorrect age, to gain entry into pubs. Therefore, showing the shortcomings of the concept of a curfew. To conclude, in my opinion, curfews for teenagers are neither ethical nor effective way to deal with the issue at hand. However, there are other effective techniques to ensure their safety, like internet tracking using their mobile phones, or parents encouraging children to avoid going out late, and so on.