People believe that in order to reduce road accidents it should be mandatory for drivers to retake the driving test every 3 years. Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It has been noticed that roads accidents, across the globe, has increased in vast numbers. Some people are of the opinion that there must be recurring driving test of the drivers in order to keep a check on road accidents. However, I completely disagree with this statement and believe that infrastructure should be improved and people should follow transport rules to control these accidents. To embark with, one of the main reasons of the lane accidents is the deteriorating condition of infrastructure. There are many highways in most of the developing countries, which have big pit holes, and uneven road surface that makes it difficult for the driver to control vehicles, and the condition becomes worse during monsoon season, wherein its almost impossible to spot these problems. As a result, driving person met with an accident and therefore, results in a person's death. For example, according to a survey, substandard road accidents, contributes more than 50 percent of the road accidents. So, I believe Government should improve the conditions of these roads. Furthermore, the other main reason of these accidents is the absence of strict traffic laws. Firstly, most of the drivers do not follow traffic rules, as there are no stringent penalties and one can escape easily by paying a small amount as penalty. Adding to this, pedestrian in most of the cases, does not cross the roads through subways and zebra crossings which aids to elevation of road accidents. For example, Jaipur is the capital of Rajisthan, where in spite of the provision of subways, citizens never used them and rather blame drivers for the accidents. So, to tackle this problem Government should impose strict traffic rules. In conclusion, to tackle the issue of road accidents, the Government should improve the infrastructure, and impose strict traffic laws, rather than making it compulsory to take the recurring driving test after every few years.