Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is thought by many there is a huge growth in the sales of car in last three decades. As a result traffic congestion becomes the problem in across the world. This essay will highlight the effective solutions to mitigate this issue. To overcome this subject there are a few steps which need to be taken by the government. Firstly, the government should develop public transportation and improves the quality of this sector. Native people should feel convenient while using this facility, frequent busses should me allowed in the areas which motivates them to use it. Moreover, reduce the fare of public transport which brings massive result in using public transport since this approach encourages the people who often travel like employees and students. Secondly, as we have seen that many people have two or three vehicles in their home. Authorities need to seize their cars and imposed heavy charge on them using more motors. This step makes them compel to take the facility of public transport. In addition, many automobile companies launching different varieties of cars in each month at low budget. For example, the Tata motors organisation has introduced the Nano car only in 25,000 which attracted to public and compelled them to purchase. Such companies should be warned and impose heavy tax on them. There would be a limit on the production of cars or the ministry should encourage those companies to introduce an electric cars which are environment free and easy to move without creating traffic jams. To recapitulate, this essay highlighted the best medium for this problem which should be initiated by the government which brings colourful results.