In some countries, criminal trials are shown to the public on television. Do the advantages of this trend overweight the disadvantages?

Carrying out a crime almost is considered detrimental to both people and society. However, some countries tend to show court processing of a crime in television for the public. Although, there are some benefits for this trend, I believe that the drawbacks involved are more. Watching crime trials in television allowed to be beneficial in some aspects. Firstly, when seeing these trials, the public is admitted to earning more awareness of a consequence of committing the crime. As a result of increasing consciousness, they are least likely to fall prey to criminals and become a crime victim. For example, when watching a court judgment about burglary, the young will inform that this crime will bring about some negative outcome for both perpetrator and society. It makes them to obey the laws and don't violate the rules. Therefore, the crime rate is most likely to decrease. Secondly, showing court processes are also allowed to increase knowledge of the legal punishment for a crime, Some people may don't have any information about a special crime, and its negative outcomes. Following the court procedure in television will help them to improve their learning. For example, the people who watch a family court, not only are permitted to learn new advice for recovery their marriage life, but also are allowed to alert themselves to have appropriate behaviours in the family. Despite of these mentioned advantages, there are more disadvantages for showing crime trials in television. I strongly reckon that seeing these for some ages, especially children, fuel some wrong model in society. Because the children are not considered mature, these programs are most likely to play an important role in their behaviour and forming their personality. The children are capable of imitating the aggressive and offensive behaviour of a culprit. Moreover, finding this crime exciting, the children may persuade for committing it, for instance a car crime. In addition, watching the court procedure in television is permitted to be controversial among the public. The more exciting the court trial is, the more people will debate about it. Take a court related to a capital crime as an example, this is most likely to be thrilling for people who looking forward excitements. They follow these court trends and tend to judge their law-offenders. Such judging will disturb the public opinion and peace. In conclusion, I maintain that even though showing the court trials on television can lead to some merit, its downsides outweighs the positive sides.