Some people believe that the main benefit of international cooperation is the protection of the environment, while others think that the main benefits are in the world of business. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views as to whether the environment or the world’s economy and businesses benefit most from global cooperation. Personally, I contend that the latter is more likely to enjoy fruitful results from this trend. One the one hand, when the world becomes a global village, environmental protection turns out to be a common concern and is addressed on a global scale. Kyoto Protocol, which is an international treaty that imposes limitations on CO2 emissions on member nations, helps to reduce a significant amount of the gas into the atmosphere. Were this treaty not brought to life by concerted efforts of many nations, our carbon footprint would be much greater and the damage we did to our planet would be more severe. Moreover, given countries are inexorably linked to each other economically and politically, the wealthier ones could introduce environmentally linked aid to poorer countries with a view to curb their uncontrolled paces of industrialization. Whatever the results of these practices, at least collective attempts made worldwide brings a great impact on individual consciousness, which prompts individuals to act environmentally responsibly. However, I believe that economic prosperity is the main by-product of global integration. Thanks to an increasingly free global market, a number of undeveloped nations are being lifted out of poverty through either exporting their strengths or foreign investments. This is not likely to happen in times of political isolation had been the norm since the flows of goods, money, and humans were limited within national boundaries or regional borders. Furthermore, global cooperation enables transnational or international corporations to locate their manufacturing facilities on the other side of the world where cheap and abundant labours could make a huge difference in price production, leaving them an edge over their rivals. In conclusion, I think, even though international cooperation could bring about some initiatives regarding environmental preservation it is the world of business that benefits most from the development.