In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

In many parts of US, adolescents are under ban, according to which they are restricted to be outside their homes at midnight after a specific time if they are not accompanied with a caretaker. In my opinion, this is essential in order to ensure their safety and prevent them from involving in some detrimental activities. The safety of the child is of paramount importance for any parent and in some areas, this is compromised during late nights. Firstly, as per the statistics, some localities and areas have a higher crime rate as compared to others. The miscreants and peccadillos operate after dawn after a particular time. For example, drug dealers keep an eye on targets which are in their teenage, who end up taking bad decision and gets stuck in a vicious cycle. Thus, in such cases, it is advisable and sensible that teenagers, who are naïve and sometimes volatile in their behaviour in handling such criminals, should be accompanied by the guardian to deter the crime and mishap. Further, some areas are prone to accident mainly due to rush of heavy good vehicles, so a millennial presence and their driving experience prevent adolescents from any accidental hazards. Moreover, there are many anti-social groups that operate during midnight and try to entice the young teenagers into activities that are detrimental for them such as, drug and alcohol consumption. The presence of a relative or parent dissuades them in approaching the teenager and hence prevents them from getting involved in activities that are baneful for them as an individual, as well as having harmful effects on the society and the community. In conclusion, it is pivotal for teenager’s safety and holistic growth without any interruption that they are accompanied by an adult after a certain time at night, hence the curfew is rightly justified.