Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is an expressive language of culture, it often tells a story and expresses an emotion to society. Furthermore, it is an internationally important aspect of culture. Some people are of the opinion that music is a recommendable means of bridging the gap between cultures and different age groups. This essay will argue that music indeed brings societies of different cultures together, however, it is limited in uniting different generations. As commonly seen in the world today, people of different race, language and culture have come together when it relates to music. It has been a tool for passing a unified message across different continents. For example the reggae genre of music originated from a small Caribbean island called Jamaica but it has gained popularity in different continents and societies. A recent study done in an Asian country showed that 40% of its population listen to and enjoy reggae music. There are so many instances where people can relate to the music of cultures different from theirs, moreover, even when people may not understand the language of the music they will still dance to it. However, when it comes to age brackets and their choice of music, there is a marked disparity. People are more likely to enjoy the music genres that were popular during their formative years or youth. For example the current generation enjoys more of rap and pop genres of music. They may not appreciate the classical music that their parents listen to and enjoy. In the same vain the older generation disdains the new sound of the current generation and usually wonder how their children can enjoy such loud music. In conclusion, This essay has argued that although, music may unify people of different cultures, it rarely brings together people of different peer groups. This is because people of different age brackets are likely to enjoy the music genres they are used to and dislike the new genres.