Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Road accidents are a big concern for most countries and there are lots of driving offences that occur on the roadway and their amount is likely to increase in the next years. Some people think these accidents can be diminished by strict punishments. However, others believe that there are different ways to prevent these accidents. On the one hand, strict penalties can certainly help people to drive more safely. Because punishments can be perceived as a fuse, like something that protects drivers from violations, and reasonably from penalties like fines, licence suspensions, even prison sentences. For instance, before exceeding the speed limit, the driver would remember that penalty for this accident is high and finally, would reduce the speed of his vehicle. The main purpose of these punishments is to discipline dangerous and careless drivers. On the other hand, others think that different ways would be more effective to reduce the number of driving accidents and improve road safety. The most meaningful way is to instruct drivers before they start to drive. This should be integrated into the teaching program of driving school, and also drivers should have a difficult exam. Secondly, the government should improve the infrastructure of roads, reduce road speed for highways, install more traffic cameras, and new signs that are visible in the night time. Furthermore, developing road infrastructure includes improving public transport, which means that people would less transport by car. In conclusion, while punishments are helping to decrease the number of bad accidents, I strongly believe that other methods should be integrated into this system.