‘The key to reducing crime is to have more police patrolling the streets.’ How far do you support this proposal? What other ways of reducing crime may be effective?

We are all concerned about high crime levels and possible ways to reduce crime, especially in cities. The idea of having high numbers of visible police officers may be initially appealing, but some analysis will show that it is not the key method and that other options are preferable. Firstly, we should ask what the purpose of extra detective in public would be. It is probably true that this tactic would reduce minor wrongdoing, such as littering and unsocial behaviour, but determined criminals such as thieves and muggers will inevitably find ways to operate despite the law enforcement presence. The example of New York shows that police patrols initially reduce the violation to some extent, but chaos, then levels off and persists at the lower rate, no matter how many more police are added. Secondly, it must be said that many crimes which worry the public today, such as identity theft or financial hacking and fraud, are not carried out on the streets and thus would be invisible to force patrols anyway. This means there is a danger that we would be responding to a current threat with an outdated tactic. Turning to possible alternatives, probably the most effective would be to improve the efficiency of existing police rather than increase their numbers, for instance by better training in computer-based misdeed. This would generate improved rates of detection of crimes and more efficient use of the vast amount of technology available. Another viable option would be to increase penalties for criminals, which would have the benefit of deterring them from committing crime at all. Both these alternatives would be comparatively cheap, and would address the root of the problem rather than seeking to suppress the symptoms. Overall, we have seen that increased patrols are of limited effectiveness because they are superficial in nature. Better training and stronger sentencing would appear to be far more robust alternatives these days.