Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether to use free time in performing things that encourage our mental development like book reading and puzzle-solving or to give our minds a break is controversial. In my opinion, I believe that utilizing free time in such activities helps to broaden our horizon besides enhancing our knowledge and intelligence. On the one hand, some people advocate spending leisure time by giving rest to the mind. It seems understandable that sparing brain from all office work is vital for the mental well being of those professionals who remain busy in their hectic work, throughout the day. This break is particularly important for professionals like accountants, who suffer mental fatigue because of the nature of their job that requires a high level of concentration and focus. For instance, the recent world accountancy journal has shown that working 24/7 in the fields like accountancy is likely to affect the efficiency and output enormously. Thus, relaxing the minds by taking time -outs is important for several professions. On the other hand, there are a few minds who consider that leisure time can be best consumed in productive activities like reading and problem-solving activities and I agree. To keep a famous quote in view that an empty mind is a home to the devil; one must not sit idle wasting his valuable time. In other words, every second spent without thinking or cognition adds on to rusting the mind. Moreover, making free time valuable with productive activities has various benefits. The activities like booking reading during our spare time not only increases us with our knowledge and vocabulary but also serves to broaden our vision. For instance, a child who spends his free moment in studying interesting books has an edge over others. This is because book reading not only adds to his information about different cultures, historical things, and the arts but also broadens his horizon and vocabulary. For instance, a survey conducted at Harvard University states that children going to libraries often have better knowledge, communication skills, and vision that those who spend their leisure time playing video games. Furthermore, spending spare time -solving puzzles help in enhancing the problem-solving skills and maths of a child that is often deemed a great quality to have in later life. Thus, this highlights that the spare time should be made productive rather than wasting it by sitting idle. To conclude, while people may vary in their opinion, I strongly believe that vacant time ought to be spent on productive activities that lead to improved knowledge, broader thinking, and developing problem-solving skills.