Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, governments have spent a portion of the state’s budget in the art sectors all over the world, however, this allocation is a matter of debate. Some experts mention that investing more in cultural sites must be increased, while others believe it is wasting money and anticipate funding of public facilities is crucially more reasonable instead of music or theatre expenses. I am actually in favour of the prior argument for two main reasons. Firstly, as a matter of fact, the arts generally enhance human beings’ mental health and communities’ cultural enrichment thoroughly. For instance, scientists depict that listening to a particular music genre such as classical ones, would boost concentration and mount focus, especially in a studying process. Furthermore, when spectators watch a comedy theatre, it will reduce mental issues such as depression and anxiety in the long term, in other words, the show is like a remedy for mental diseases. All in all, when politicians fundraise on these kinds of programs, communities’ health consequently will be alleviated. Secondly, the flourished local economy definitely depends on the enriched cultural sites with extraordinary artists. Take Paris as an example, annually municipalities and NGOs have held exhibitions to illustrate masterpiece artworks. For this reason, a significant rise in tourist population, who have mounted to visit these shows, has been observed. In addition, a considerable growth rate of buying items by foreign visitors will benefit Paris retailers and local shops’ economy. On the other hand, the massive cost of mounting a festival or constructing a cinema is a vital issue, which some experts mention. Therefore, these groups prefer investing in public services instead of arts. However, the usage of a surplus budget in an economically sustainable state should be recommended. To conclude, despite the huge cost of the arts sector, it is an investment in economics terminology by aims to flourish the local economy. In my opinion, a surplus budget should invest in music and performance instead of public services, which provide opportunities to make profits for all walks of people.