In spite of the advances made in agriculture , many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite of the development in the agricultural field, the fact that starvation is a ubiquitous phenomenon in the entire world. There are many reasons behind this including poverty and transport facilities. There is a multitude of causes and solutions for the atrocious dilemma. This essay will further facets of a notion above mentioned and provide some remedial measures. The most likely cause of this situation in spite of the agricultural developments is poverty. Firstly, this technological advancement ensures the growth and development of fresh fruits, but people with poor socioeconomic line have no access to it. As a result of genetic engineering the crops can be resistant to climate changes and transported over long distance but these increases the process even more. For instance, with the betterment of technology people opt organic farming which in turn increases the prices of products. Secondly, the problem can also be attributed to poor transit facilities in rural areas which is generally observed, that the crops are cultivated outside the urban areas. A good transportation system is required to distribute these fruits and vegetables to other regions which is lacking in villages. Therefore, the crops suffer damage during storage and shipment and cannot reach the deserving people. The most obvious solution would be if the government subsidized vegetable's and control the prices at the national level. In addition to that, government should maintain the utility stores for the low income group were only poor people can come to purchase fruits and vegetables. Another effective measures can be if the modes of transport are improved for transportation of crops. It can be done by constructing roads and rail tracks between villages and to other regions where crops are consumed. Thus, this will be very effective to reduce the prices of vegetables as well as where local farmers have to pay huge amount for shipping of their crops. In conclusion, poverty and poor transportation system in villages appear to be the root of this problem. However, there are workable solutions to this issue in the form of government subsidizing crops and construction of roads and rail tracks between rural and urban areas.