Some say you should always marry for love; others say that in an uncertain world it is wise to marry for money. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Marriage is a unique experiences in life, but the choice of a partner is a very daunting task. Some people are of the opinion that you should choose a wife or a husband based on emotion, others feels that the best is to go for wealth. I strongly believe that the decision on who to spend the rest of time with is not to be made on the basis of material things. On the one hand, it is easier to endure the vicissitudes of marriage with a partner whom you have a deep affection for. Things are always changing and so does it in wedlock. Although, the euphoria of settling down could last for a while, however, it is only a matter of time before reality sets in. There will be a time when confrontations will come, differences in the two individuals will hunt and even physical changes in a partner could be distasteful to the other. In periods like this, it is only the mutual emotion that can keep the union going. For instance, a survey carried out in Nigeria revealed that 4 out of 5 individuals that married for love had more lasting marriage. On the other hand, advocates of marrying for affluence feel that it is more enjoyable, as there will be a lot less lack in the union. They argue that marriage comes with a whole lot of financial burden, such as; feeding, house maintenance, educating and taking care of the kids and others, and only affection cannot be enough to handle all these. Nonetheless, it could be true, but I vehemently disagree with it. This is because, in spite of the fact that there will be financial needs in the house, there is no problem a couple that works together in love and harmony cannot overcome. The little they have would be managed and utilized judiciously with happiness. To summarize, in the choice of who to spend the rest of your life with, such important decision that could determine one's emotional state for the rest of life should not be taken with regards to material possessions, undoubtedly, there are some benefits attributed to marrying for money, but the merits of settling down with your love is enormous.