Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

SOME CRITIC STATES THAT THE MAJOR ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN AT PRESENT IS THE LOSS OF SPECIFIC SPECIES OF PLANTS AND ANIMALS, WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT THERE ARE MORE CRUCIAL ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES. IN MY OPINION, CONSEQUENCE OF OTHER ENVIROMENTAL PROBLEMS SUCH AS GLOBAL WARMING, WATER POLLUTION IS MORE SEVERE THAN THE EXTINCTION OF PLANTS AND ANIMALS ONLY. ON THE ONE HAND, GLOBAL WARMING IS BY FAR ONE OF MOST IMPORTANT ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES AT PRESENT AND, IT IS CAUSED MAINLY BY BURNING OF FOSSIL FUEL, DEFORESTATION, AND RISE IN POPULATION SIZE. FOR EXAMPLE, CONSIDER THE CASE OF MICRONESIAN COUNRY- NAURU, WHICH IS SO PRONE TO SEA LEVEL THAT A SLIGHT INCREASE IN WATER LEVEL WILL INUNDATE THE WHOLE COUNTRY. MOST IMPORTLY, GREATER FREQUENCY OF NATURAL DISASTER, CYCLONE, TORNEDO, WILL TAKE MUCH TOLL ON HUMAN LIFE AS WELL AS PHYSICAL ASSETS IN THIS REGION. ALTHOUGH, THESE POOR COUNRIES DO NOT HAVE ADEQUATE BUDGET AND STRENGTH TO AVERT SUCH SITUATION. ON THE OTHER HAND, EXTINCTION OF MANY PLANTS AND ANIMALS IS MORE SEVERE IN RECENT DECADES. SUCH EXTERMINATION WILL CREATE A DOMINO EFFECT ON THE EXISTANCE OF OTHER SPECIES TOO. FOR EXAMPLE, POLAR BEAR, LIVES MAINLY IN ARCTIC AREA, IS NOW ON THE BRINK OF EXTINCTION BECAUSE OF RISE IN ICE MELTING, WHICH IS NOTHING BUT A UPSHOT OF TEMPERATURE RISE. IN CONCLUSION, EFFECTS OF OTHER ENVIRONMENTAL SITUATIONS LIKE GLOBAL WARMING, WATER POLLUTION TRUMP THE LOSS OF BIODIVERSITY AS THE FIRST AFFECT HUMAN BEING MORE THAN THE LATTER BY A GREAT MARGIN. SO, IT IS HIGH TIME FOR GOVERNMENT ALONG WITH PROMINENT INTERNATION ORGANIZATIOUNS, UN, UNHCR, TO TAKE REQUISITE STANCE IN ORDER TO OVERCOME THIS GLOBAL CRISIS.