Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Art galleries and museums are significant to a country's culture and heritage. Therefore, some people think that governments should charge for visiting these places, while I would argue that there should not be any entry fees for the citizens. Those who are in favour of admission charges might argue that these art-related venues possess excellent art-pieces such as paintings and statues which require high maintenance costs. Moreover, authorities need funds to pay salaries for the recruited staff. For instance, there is an admission fee of Rs. 150 to see The Taj Mahal, which is spent on its preservation. If the government stop taking charges to visit these venues, then they have to spend the taxpayers' money to maintain the artwork. This would be an injustice to the common people who expect their money to be spent on providing basic infrastructure. On the other hand, I would say that making the visits to cultural museums and historical monuments free would give the chance to the destitute to acknowledge their heritages as they do not earn enough money to spend on these stuffs. Moreover, free trips should be organised by the educational institutions so that the children would get to know about their invaluable patrimony. For example, there is no fee to visit the Jehangir art gallery in Mumbai and thus the citizens can come and see this proud symbol of freedom; hence, such visits should be free for the general public. In conclusion, although funds are required to maintain and preserve the fine artworks of museums and galleries, government should provide equal opportunity to every class to see and proud of their culture. Thus, I believe that there should be no admission charges to the public to visit these venues.