Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a growing concern over health and safety as people have broadened their knowledge of the consequences of risky activities. This leads to two distinct opinions on whether dangerous sports should be prohibited or it is the people’s right to take part in any sport categories that they want. On the one hand, there are a few reasons as to why hazardous sports should be forbidden by the government. The primary reason is that those activities are usually associated with a high probability of severe injuries or even deaths which are undesirable results. Snowboarders, for example, are often prone to unpredicted avalanche, albeit they have checked the weather forecast and have protection for safety equipment. Another significant reason is that some extreme sports often represent violence which leads to negative behaviour at best and crime at worst, of the juvenile because they are easily influenced by the others. On the other hand, there are more compelling reasons why people should take up any sports or activities. This is mainly because some sports are actually adventurous that helps promote the player’s health by enhancing their immune system, getting in a cheerful mood and even improving their sleep patterns. Mountain climbers, for instance, can feel a sense of achievement whenever they reach the mountain summit and they may do their jobs more effectively afterwards as they become more patient and persevering. Moreover, those who participate in these perilous sports have to undertake rigorous training before actually doing it to ensure they are in excellent physical and mental condition. Therefore, it is their own choice to take up this type of activity. In conclusion, it may be essential to regulate extreme sports to some extent, but it is wrong to inhibit people from doing it. It is recommended that people should have a freedom to participate in any sports providing that they are well-prepared.