It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

Punishment is essential when anyone does the crime. All countries have various types of punishments ranging from imprisonment to legalized killing. Capital punishment or to keep the convicted person in a prison for lifetime for terrible crime is a debatable issue. I will discuss both the viewpoints and give my opinion in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, people who are involved in the most wicked crimes such as murder or rape should be punished in a way that society should take a lesson from such judgements. If criminals are not punished judicially in a right manner or even if takes time for the judgement to come, society takes it for granted and keep on doing the crime without any fear. Additionally, the death penalty will save the money of taxpayers, which will otherwise be utilized for keeping the criminal in jail. For example, Saudi Arabia has a death sentence for heinous crimes and the country has seen very less criminal cases for terribly dreadful crimes. On the other hand, lifetime imprisonment is another way of giving the sentence for horrible crimes. This is the way to give the opportunity to all criminals to go for rehabilitation. Moreover, some people argue that the Governments or any other agencies do not have the right to take the life of a person, so life long sentence is the only viable option available in such countries. For example, a few developing nations have increased rate of crime over the years due to their liberal policies. In conclusion, the debates on the capital punishment and lifelong imprisonment for heinous crimes is a controversial issue. There are pros and cons on both sides and the decision goes with the countries’ belief system.